AAP retains power in Delhi for 3rd time


The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has created a history of sorts by staging a come back in the Delhi assembly elections 2020 for the 3rd consecutive term in succession.

The broom has literally cleaned the opposition mess bagging a total of 62 out of 70 assembly seats. However, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) could able to retain the remaining 8 seats at least after a tough fight.

The AAP has maintained its sweep right from the first round of counting and the tempo continued till the closing of the last. There was a neck to neck fight in all the segments. Congress for the first time gets a 0 digit with the 130-year-old party has decided to give way to AAP in order to prevent BJP from coming to power.

There are several factors that helped AAP to come back to power in Delhi which include freebies like drinking water up to 20 litres, free power up to 200 units, free transportation to women and students in Metro buses, installation of CC TVs, housing for poor, Basthi medical facilities etc.

Besides, Kejriwal’s strategic moves with regard to the advanced planning and execution of the poll campaign. Well, the Shaheen bagh protest came handy for the AAP to garner votes by maintaining semblance in neither opposing nor supporting the anti-CAA, anti-NRC protests.

Meanwhile, several dignitaries including the Prime Minister Narendra Modi, President Ramnath Kovind and Chief Ministers of various states including Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhar Rao of Telangana, YS Jaganmohan Reddy of Andhra Pradesh, Mamatha Banarjee of West Bengal and Odisha CM Navin Patnaik congratulated the AAP supremo Aravind Kejriwal for his resounding victory.

Aravind Kejriwal who reacted by saying that ‘Bharath Mata ki Jai, Inquilab Zindabad, I Love You Delhi” is expected to take oath of office on February 14.