By-Election to fill lone MLC seat in AP, Schedule announced


In yet another move, the Andhra Pradesh Election Commission has decided to hold a by-election to fill the vacancy in its Legislative Council. The post fell vacant after the YSRCP leader Mopidevi Venkata Ramana resigned from his post as MLC on June 1st only to be elected to Rajyasabha in the elections preceded.

The Commission has also directed the Chief Secretary of the State to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the elections.

The Election schedule is as follows:

 Issue of NotificationsAugust 6, 2020 (Thursday)
 Last Date of making nominationsAugust 13, 2020 (Thursday)
 Scrutiny of nominationsAugust 14, 2020 (Friday)
 Last date for withdrawal of candidaturesAugust 17, 2020 (Monday)
 Date of PollAugust 24, 2020 (Monday)
 Hours of Poll09:00 am to 04:00 pm
 Counting of VotesAugust 24, 2020 (Monday) at 05:00 pm
 Date before which election shall be completedAugust 26, 2020 (Wednesday)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here