Covid threat makes both houses adjourn sine die, 12 bills passed


The Monsoon Assembly sessions were adjourned sine die by the Speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy today after a day-long discussion on the development of infrastructure facilities in Hyderabad city.

The decision of the Speaker to adjourn the house midway as per the decision taken at the Business Advisory Committee Meeting held last evening due to spread of Covid pandemic. It is learnt that the about 52 persons including Nampally MLA, some of the assembly staff, media persons were tested positive. This made the Speaker end the ongoing sessions in midway.

Announcing this said that the house has so far discussed and approved nearly 12 important bills besides holding debates on Covid Management, Power, Urban Development etc. “Originally it was decided to hold up to September 27 but unfortunately Covid continued to show its impact on us with few of our members, officials, staff, and media people were affected. Hence, it was decided to terminate the sessions in the midway and with the consent of the house, I adjourn the House sine die”, he declared.

The house has also witnessed heated arguments between the members especially on revenue amendment act, VROs cancellation bill, Panchayat Raj amendment bill besides city development, metro rail in the old city, roads and irrigation projects etc.

Chairman of Telangana Legislative Council Gutta Sukhendar Reddy is holding an all-party meeting to discuss the adjournment of the house.

Telangana Legislative Council

Following the adjournment of Telangana assembly, the Chairman of Telangana Legislative Council Gutta Sukhender Reddy called for an all-party meeting at his chambers and decided to adjourn the Council on the advice of all party leaders.

The Chairman reportedly informed the members about the threat of Covid looming large many council staff, security personnel and few members including Egge Mallesham. Those who attended the meeting include Congress party MLC Jeevan Reddy, MIM party MLC Jafri, BJP Ramchander Rao, Minister Jagadeeswar Reddy, Deputy Chairman Neti Vidyasagar, Chief Whip Bodakunti Venkateswarlu, Whips Bhanu Prasad, Damodar Reddy, MS Prabhakar, MLCs Janardhan Reddy, Narsi Reddy, Krishna Reddy, Sheri Subash Reddy, Kadima Srihari etc.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here