Five appointed as RTI Commissioners

RTI Commissioners

The State Government has issued a GO appointing 5 persons as the new Commissioners for the Right to Information Act (RTA).

They include the Editor of Namasthe Telangana Katta Shekhar Reddy, CEO T-News channel M Narayan Reddy, Advocates Syed Khaleelullah, Mohd Amir, and Tribal Welfare Association founder President Gugulothu Shankar Naik.

The CMO sources said the decision has come in the wake of the 2-member search committee comprising MLA Akbaruddin Owaisi and the Minister for Roads and Building Vemula Prashant Reddy submitting its report to the Chief Minister on Sunday at Pragathi Bhavan.

All the 5 Commissioners will remain in the post for 3 years or until they attain 65 years of age which is high. Currently, the state has Raja Sadaram as the Chief Commissioner and Budda Murali as the Member. With the appointment of 5 new members, the strength in the RTI has grown to 7.


KATTA SHEKHAR REDDY (59): A native of Madgulapalli in Nalgonda district and journalist by profession. He is currently serving as the Editor of Namasthe Telangana daily news paper.

M NARAYANA REDDY (50): A native of Mubaraspur village in Doulatabad mandal of Siddipet district. Working in various newspapers in different capacities. He has been serving as the CEO of T-News channel since 2009.

MOHD AMIR (51): An advocate by profession, he has been serving as the state secretary, TRS party and resident of Masab Tank.

SYED KHALEELULLAH (59): A native of Aghapura in Hyderabad and advocate by profession. He is also involved in several awareness campaigns among minorities.

G SHANKAR NAIK (33): A PhD holder from Osmania University and an ardent Tribal activist.