Gadkari gives away National Highways Excellence Awards

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari is seen giving away National Highways Excellence Awards in New Delhi

Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways Nitin Gadkari has lauded the contribution of all stakeholders in the National Highway sector for their contribution in building world-class road infrastructure in the country. He said, it was their efforts that yielded a record construction length of 29 km per day of NH last year.

Giving away the ‘National Highways Excellence Awards 2019’ to outstanding performers in NH sector on Tuesday in New Delhi, the Minister exuded confidence that this record will be surmounted by achieving the construction target of 50 km per day in the coming days.

This year, the nominations were opened on August 19th, 2019. An impartial and independent evaluation process was adopted which had objective and quantifiable assessment parameters.

The awards were given under 7 categories:

1.         Excellence in Project Management,

2.         Excellence in Operation and Maintenance,

3.         Excellence in Toll Management,

4.         Excellence in Highway Safety,

5.         Innovation,

6.         Outstanding Work in Challenging Conditions, and

7.         Green Highway.

Each award category had its own pre-defined eligibility criteria, assessment parameters and scoring rubrics. This year, 104 applications were received across these seven categories on an online application platform designed by NIC. The applications are spread across the entire country. The assessment was carried out in three months. Each application underwent multiple rounds of scrutiny. First, the data and documents submitted by the applicants were evaluated, and then shortlisted projects were visited on-site by a team of trained experts to corroborate the submitted data from findings on the field. Detailed project profiles of the top 40 shortlisted projects were presented before an esteemed jury panel, who checked all the aspects of each project and finalized 12 winners across the seven categories.

Toll authorities which have managed the best implementation of FASTag technology were also awarded for increased automation in toll collection