IIBC to confer ‘Indiana Ratna’ Award on former Mayor of Indianapolis Greg Ballard

Former Indianapolis Mayor Photo Greg Ballard has been chosen for Indiana Ratna Award.

The Indiana India Business Council (IIBC) has named former Indianapolis Mayor and University of Indianapolis Visiting Fellow Greg Ballard to receive the “Indiana Ratna” (Jewel of Indiana) award at the 2nd Annual “Indiana India – Celebrating Our Impact Gala, to be held on August 15 at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in Downtown Indianapolis.


Announcing this here today, the founder and President of the Indiana India Business Council Raju Chinthala, said Greg Ballard has been a leader in developing economic opportunities between Indiana and India. He said as Mayor of Indianapolis and now as a Visiting Fellow at the University of Indianapolis, he has forged a strong relationship between the people of Indiana and India. He is a deserving recipient of the Indiana Ratna award,” he added.

“I’m honoured to be recognized by the Indiana India Business Council,” says Greg Ballard. “I am proud to have been part of nurturing this relationship between Indiana and the people and businesses of India.”

The Indiana India Business Council (IIBC) is a membership-based business advocacy group that provides services to its members and leadership in strengthening economic ties between Indiana and India. IIBC’s vision is to build a positive bi-lateral environment between Indiana and India that supports a spirit of economic partnership and to be a “trusted advisor” in promoting trade and business collaboration. For more information, please visit www.ININbc.org

“Indiana Ratna’ is the highest award bestowed by Board members of Indiana India Business Council to individuals who have contributed significantly towards strengthening cultural, educational, political, social and economic ties and have helped make a profound impact in both Indiana and India. Businesswoman, philanthropist, and Christel House International Founder and CEO, Christel DeHaan was its first “Indiana Ratna” (Jewel of Indiana) award recipient in 2018.

The author can be reached on: balbirsingh227@gmail.com