Journalist unions pay respects to Martyrs, Allam demands 25 cr Welfare Fund

Leaders of two Journalist unions addressing media after paying respects to Telangana martyrs at Gunpark

The two warring journalist trade unions have paid their respects to the Telangana martyrs by offering floral tributes at the martyrs’ memorial in Gunpark as part of the state formation day celebrations today.


Among the two groups, one is led by the Media Academy Chairman Allam Narayana and the other one by the former Academy Chairman K Srinivas Reddy who arrived separately in groups and offered floral tributes. They raised slogans of Jai Telangana and vowed to rededicate themselves to the cause of Journalists welfare.

Speaking on the occasion, Allam Narayana who is also the president of Telangana State Union of Working Journalists demanded the state government to release the remaining balance of Journalist Welfare Fund announced earlier as it would facilitate to take up more number of welfare measures. He also urged the government to provide a Covid Insurance facility not less than Rs20 lakh to each Journalist as many have been working in dire conditions covering the Covid news at the cost of their own health. Allam Narayana also wanted the government to declare the sum of Rs 25 crore as immediate relief to Journalist fraternity as has been done in the case of advocates.

The other TUWJ leaders who attended the programme include vice president Ramesh Hazari, Secretary Askani Maruthi Sagar, TEMJU state president Syed Ismail, Secretary Ramana Kumar, President of Small Papers Association Yusuf Babu, Hyderabad unit President Yoganand, General Secretary Naveen Kumar and others participated.

Media Academy Chairman Allam Narayana along with other TUWJ union members are seen paying tributes to the martyrs


Meanwhile, the members of other TUWJ group led by K Srinivas Reddy and Virahat Ali have also paid their respects not only to the martyrs but also those died of Covid pandemic. They vowed to continue their agitations to bring pressure on the government to resolve the long-pending issues pertaining to Journalists. They alleged that Journalists fraternity are agog in Telangana as the government had completely ignored them during the past 6 six years. “In fact, they had much expectation with the formation of a new Telangana state. But to our utter shock, we are left with nothing except for disappointment”, they charged.

The others who participated in the programme include former members of Press Council of India Y Narender Reddy, K Amarnath, TUWJ leaders Vishnu Das Srikanth, Eshwar Reddy, Kiran, A Rajesh, V Yadagiri, Zilani, Swamy, Ramulu from Electronic Media wing, Photo Journalists union Secretary Hari, HJU president and secretary Riyaz Ahmed and Shiga Shankar Goud etc.

Former Academy chairman K Srinivas Reddy, Virahat Ali and other TUWJ leaders are seen paying their respects to the Telangana martyrs