MLC polling comes to a close peacefully except for poor turnout

Minister KT Rama Rao, BJP candidate N Ramachandra Rao, Kapilavai Dileep Kumar, Home Minister Mahmood Ali and former Mayor Bonthu Rammohan are showing their ink mark after casting their vote in MLC polls today

The polling for the two graduate constituencies in Telangana went off peacefully without any incident reported except for minor skirmishes between TRS and BJP in Nalgonda and Warangal constituencies.


The Election Commission of India has announced that a poor poll percentage of 39.09% in Hyderabad-RR-Mahabubnagar district while 43.46% has been recorded in Nalgonda-Khammam-Warangal graduate constituencies till 2 pm today. It is astonishing to note that this time the turn out was far less than the last elections held in 2015 wherein the poll percentage was at 39% and 52% respectively in both the constituencies despite massive campaign was taken up to create awareness among graduates to cast their votes. The government has also taken up a new voter enrolment campaign on large scale with all political parties involving themselves actively.

The polling closed at 4 pm sharp at all the 1530 polling stations across 2 constituencies wherein over 10 lakh voters exercised their franchise.

Several contestants, Ministers and top officials including KT Rama Rao, Chief Secretary Somesh Kumar have cast their votes in their respective areas.


The Chief Electoral Officer has announced that the final poll percentage of MLC elections for the 2 graduate councils for Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda as 64.70 per cent and for Hyderabad-RR-Mahabubnagar at 59.96 per cent.

However, the CEO, interestingly, added it as approximately while announcing the percentage.