Nagarjunasagar and 14 others to go for polls on April 17


The much-awaited election schedule for the Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly constituency in Telangana and the Tirupathi Parliamentary constituency in Andhra Pradesh will be held simulteneously on April 17 and the results will be announced after counting on May 2, 2021.


Announcing the schedule here today, the Eelection Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill vacancies in one Parliamentary Constituency, Belgaum in Karnataka and 14 vacancies in Assembly Constituencies of various States as per details given below:

Sl. No.StateParliament Constituency No. & Name 
 Andhra Pradesh23-Tirupati (SC)
Sl. No.StateAssembly Constituency No. & Name 
 Gujarat125– MorvaHadaf (ST)
 Karnataka59–Maski (ST)
 Madhya Pradesh55-Damoh
 Mizoram26-Serchhip (ST)
 Nagaland51-Noksen (ST)
 Rajasthan179- Sahara
 Rajasthan24-Sujangarh (SC)
 Telangana87-Nagarjuna Sagar

After taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls, weather conditions, movement of forces, pandemic etc., the Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill these vacancies as per the programme mentioned as under:

Poll EventsDate and Day
Date of Issue of Gazette Notification23.03.2021(Tuesday)
Last Date of Nominations30.03.2021(Tuesday)
Date for Scrutiny of Nominations31.03.2021(Wednesday)
Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures03.04.2021(Saturday)
Date of Poll17.04.2021(Saturday)
Date of Counting02.05.2021(Sunday)
Date before which election shall be completed04.05.2021(Tuesday)