Operation Akarsh: Jana Reddy joining BJP likely


In a fast phased political development in Nagarjuna Sagar following the demise of its sitting MLA from TRS Nomula Narasaiah recently, the former Home Minister and Congress senior leader in the state Jana Reddy is all set to join the Bharatiya Janata Party.


In a bid to give a jolt to the ruling TRS party, the State Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) riding high on its success both in Dubbaka and subsequently in GHMC moved pawns to register its 3rd victory in the forthcoming bypolls in Nagarjuna Sagar by luring the Congress veteran Jana Reddy into its fold.

It is said that BJP leadership eyeing on 2024 elections is already in touch with Jana Reddy who reported to have assured him of fielding his son Raghuveer Reddy from Nagarjuna Sagar. However, Jana Reddy who initially announced his retirement by bringing his son into the frontal politics had a second thought about it and believed to have decided to contest himself in the forthcoming byelections hoping to get a berth in the Union Cabinet. He reportedly gave this feeler to the BJP high command considering his hold in the constituency and his experience in administration and politics.

It may be recalled, Jana Reddy who had lost to Nomula Narasimhaiah of TRS in the last 2018 elections by a margin of 7771 votes where as he won on the same candidate in 2014 elections with a margin of 16,476.

Started his political career by unsuccessfully contesting in 1978 from JNP ticket and later joined Telugu Desam Party in 1983. He was re-elected for 6 terms to the Assembly from the Chalakurthi constituency, and 7th term in 2014 from Nagarjuna Sagar. He went on to hold portfolios such as Agriculture, Co-operative, Marketing, Forest, Animal Husbandry, Fisheries, Weights & Measures, C.A.D., Transport, Roads & Buildings, Housing Panchayath Raj, Rural water scheme and Sanitation in the Government of Andhra Pradesh. He is the longest serving cabinet minister in the govt of Telangana breaking the record of Kasu Bramanadha Reddy former chief minister of united Andhra Pradesh.