President to confer National Sports and Adventure Awards today


The President Ram Nath Kovind will virtually confer the National Sports and Adventure Awards 2020 on the occasion of National Sports Day on Saturday.

Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Kiren Rijiju, President of the Indian Olympic Association Narendra Dhruv Batra and several other dignitaries will attend the ceremony from Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi. 65 awardees are expected to attend the ceremony.

The awardees will attend the ceremony from various places across the country including Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Pune, Sonepat, Chandigarh, Kolkata, Lucknow, Delhi, Mumbai, Bhopal, and Itanagar. The Ceremony will be launched at 11 AM on 29 August 2020. The event will be telecast live on Doordarshan and streamed live on

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years preceding the award;

Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years;

Dronacharya Award goes to the coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events;

Dhyan Chand Award is for lifetime contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar is given to the corporate entities (both in the private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy. In addition to these Sports Awards, the spirit of adventure among the people of the country is recognized by bestowing the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award. In a first-ever endeavour, the first National Sports and Adventure Award 2020 is being conducted virtually on 29 August 2020.

Following are the probable sports personalities to be received awards:

  • Sandeep Chaudhary, one of the Arjuna Award recipients.
  • Table Tennis player Manika Batra will receive the prestigious Khel Ratna Award,
  • Kuldeep Handoo, National Wushu team coach
  • Assam pugilist and upcoming superstar of Indian boxing, Lovlina Borgohain


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here