PV Sindhu among 5 from AP, Telangana selected for Padma Awards


The centre has announced the most prestigious and the highest civilian Awards of the country, Padma Awards in three categories including Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

These awards are to be conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year. This year the President has approved conferment of 141 Padma Awards including 4 duo cases (in a duo case, the award is counted as one) as per list below. The list comprises of 7 Padma Vibhushan, 16 Padma Bhushan and 118 Padma Shri Awards. 33 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 18 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 12 Posthumous awardees.

AP born ace badminton player PV Sindhu from Telangana was among 5 people from different faculties were selected for the award. They include Chintal Venkat Reddy (Agriculture), and Sri Bhashyam Vijaya Saradhi (Education, Literature), Yedla Gopal Rao (Arts), Dalavai Chalapathi Rao (Arts) from Andhra Pradesh.

The government also announced few awards posthumously for the former Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, George Fernandes, Sushma Swaraj and the Vishweswara Theertha Swamy from Udipi Math in Karnatka besides Padma Vibhuvishan were awarded to Mary Kom, Chennu Misra, and Anirudh Jagannath.