Tammineni Seetaram elected as Speaker of AP Assembly

Tammineni Sitaram is seen taking over as the Speaker of AP Assembly today. CM YS Jaganmohan Reddy and TDP Deputy Floor Leader Acham Naidu have led him to the podium.

Former Minister and Senior Legislator Tammineni Seetaram has been elected as the Speaker of 2nd Andhra Pradesh Assembly. He represents the Amudalavalasa constituency in Srikakulam district of Andhra Pradesh. 

His name was first prosed by Minister Botsa Satyanarayana and 30 others after which the Protem Speaker Appala Naidu declared Seetharam elected as the Speaker of the house unanimously. The Chief Minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy who fondly hugged him and led him to the Speaker’s chair and protem speaker handed over the business to the Speaker.


However, the opposition leader Chandrababu Naidu remained in his seat unmoved. His deputy Acham Naidu joined the CM in bringing the Speaker to the podium. This led to the commotion in the house with CM Jagan Mohan Reddy accusing the former CM of ignoring the customary practice of the house. This led to the volley of accusations hurled at each other while other members joined them raising the temperature in the house.

YS Jagan accused Chandrababu of encouraging defections during his term and now preaching values and morals. He said God has gifted the Telugu Desam with 23 seats as TD has taken 23 YSRCP MLAs earlier. This evoked reaction from Babu who retorted saying that Jagan’s father late YS Rajasekhar Reddy too got defected to another party following which YS Jagan declared his government would not encourage any defections henceforth. “Even if it all necessary, will allow those only after resigning to their post’, he said.

This evoked much response from various quarters including Speaker himself, who justified Jagan’s stand saying it’s necessary to have a debate on this to prevent defections and hoped this house would set an example in the country by finding a solution