TS, AP to go for 17th Lok Sabha polls on April 11


The Election Commission of India has announced the schedule for conduct of General Elections for Lok Sabha 2019 in 7 phases beginning April 11 in 22 states and 7 Union territories.

The elections in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh will be held in a single phase in all the 17 and 25 Parliamentary Constituencies respectively on April 11, 2019, as per the schedule hereunder. However, the elections for the 175 assembly seats will be held on the same day in Andhra Pradesh simulteneously along with the Parliament elections.

As per the schedule released by the CEC Sunil Arora today, voting for electing the 17th Lok Sabha will be held on April 11, April 18, April 23, and April 29 besides May 6, May 12 and May 19, 2019. The counting of votes will be held on May 23 and the results will be announced on the same day. The notification will be issued on March 18 while the last date for filing nominations will be on March 25, 2019.

The CEC Sunil Arora said that over 90 crore voters across the country would be exercising their franchise including 1.8 crores first-time voters. The election code has come into immediate effect.

Reacting to a query on the ongoing tussle between Telangana and Andhra Government over the alleged deletion of names of voters in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, the CEC said he had sent teams to both states to inquire into the matter and action would be initiated after submission of their report. 

According to the final electoral rolles notified recently by the EC, TS has 2,9518,964 voters including 1,48,42,619 men and 1,46,74,977 women voters in addition to 1,368 third gender voters.

Andhra Pradesh has 3,69,33,091 voters comprising 1,83,24,588 men 1,86,04,742 women and 3,761 third gender voters.