TS blames Centre for its water-sharing dispute with AP

CM KCR is seen reviewing with irrigation officials in Pragati Bhavan today

Telangana state government has decided to protect its right-full share in the Godavari and Krishna Rivers. It has also resolved not to lose a single drop of water and go to any extent to protect its rights.

A unanimous decision to this effect was taken at a review meeting held in Pragathi Bhavan today on the letter written by Central Water Resources Ministry Secretary MP Singh to the state government to express its opinion to convene the Water Resources Ministry Apex Council meeting on Aug 5 to resolve the water disputes between the Telangana State and AP.

The Central Water Resources ministry has decided Aug 5 as the date for the Apex Council meeting to resolve water disputes between the Telangana state and AP. There was a feeling expressed in the meeting that since there are other government programmes on Aug 5 it may cause inconvenience. The Chief Minister Chandrasekhar Rao has suggested to the Chief Secretary to write a letter to the Centre to have the Apex Council meeting after Aug 20, after the completion of the Independence Day celebrations on Aug 15.

The meeting felt that the working of the Central water resources Ministry in finding a solution to the water disputes between the two states is almost funny and it expressed its dissatisfaction over the matter. The participants blamed the Centre for what they termed miserably failing in ensuring proper sharing of waters between the two newly formed States.

While condemning the Central Water Resources Ministry’s irresponsible behaviour in turning a deaf ear to the Telangana government’s requests, the officials felt that the Ministry should least resolve the issues that were pending in courts and tribunals as it won’t do any good to either of the states and allow TS to utilise its rightful share of water in Godavari and Krishna rivers.

The high-level meeting was attended by the Water Resources Department experts, ministers, and other officials including State Planning Commission Vice Chairman B Vinod Kumar, State Rythu Bandhu Samithi President Palla Rajeshwar Reddy, Government’s Chief Advisor Rajiv Sharma, Chief Secretary Somesh Kumar, Irrigation Advisor SK Joshi, CMO higher officials Narsing Rao, Ms Smita Sabharwal, Principal Secretary (Irrigation) Ranjit Kumar, CM OSD Sridhar Rao Deshpande, Retired Engineers Association representatives Mareddy Syamsunder Reddy, Venkatrama Rao, Ramakrishna Reddy, Damodar Reddy, Gopal Reddy, CEs Nagender Rao, Narsimha, Telangana State Advocate in the Supreme Court Ravinder Rao and others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here